10 absolute rules for Public Transit users

Bus Driver

I'm on a freakin' bus!

I am 20 years old and I have never driven a car in my life. As a result, I have an excellent understanding, and loads of experience with the bus system in my hometown, Vancouver, and I would like to share the 10 things all transit users should ALWAYS do.

1. Say hi to the bus driver, or at least smile. No need to spread your bad mood to the bus driver.

2.Get out of your seat and stand if someone old/unsteady on their feet walk on, and there are no seats. I cannot believe how many people don’t do this!!

3.Do not argue with the bus drivers. They are ALWAYS right.

4. Drunk people need to sit at the very back of the bus. This also goes for crazy, smelly and loud people too. Normal people want to avoid you 🙂

5. SHOWER! With soap! Short people like me, who stand at armpit height, do not want to smell your B.O.

6. Put on a shirt! Seems like an obvious one, but the hot summer of 2009 when I had to commute 2 hours to school one way proved that guys like to go on buses without shirts and sit next to me. Sticky, smelly shirtless men on hot buses should be banned from transit.

7. Do not talk to people with headphones unless it’s important.

8. Do not keep the train doors open. You should be able to wait the 2 minutes for the next one.

9. Keep your legs closed! The number of guys who keep their legs wide open, consequently cramping the person sitting next to them, is much more than necessary.

10. Thank the bus driver when you get off!

If people seriously followed these, bussing would be much more enjoyable for drivers and transitters. So do as I say!

Courteously yours,

Shiv 🙂

4 responses to “10 absolute rules for Public Transit users

  1. Agree with all of them!! I’d like to add the following:
    – no excessively loud/personal phone calls
    – no excessive PDA!!

    • I kind of enjoy the personal phone calls – this one girl going through an obvious morning after called her friend on a bus at UBC and asked “OK I don’t remember anything after we went to [frat part x], what happened? OMG I did NOT! Nooooo don’t tell me that happened…I DID WHAT?!” But yeah, loud phone calls not so much.

      And PDA! Why did I forget PDA on the list?! Very good point, Wendan.

Leave a Reply

