Where a lack of ambition has got me

If you’re in high school/university, you’ll know just how often you’re asked what you plan to do when you graduate.

For those who forget, we are asked this a LOT.

What if you don’t have any idea what you want to do for the rest of your life? If you say exactly that, just watch the disapproving faces appear. Or sit back and listen to a 10 minute lecture on what you should do with your life.

I’ve never had a clear idea of what I want to do for the rest of my life. Sure, I have some guidelines, but I prefer to apply for everything that sounds interesting and see where that gets me.

So here’s a question for you: Does being flexible mean the same thing as lacking ambition?

I don’t think so.

Besides, who holds the same job for the rest of their lives these days?  According to the reputable source of Wiki Answers, people hold 5-15 jobs during their lifetime!

Since I’ve only ever had a vague idea of what I’d like to do, my answer to the question “What are you going to do with your life?” is the equally vague “I’d like to do something that pays me to travel, but I’m flexible.” And that always seems to be the wrong answer. I don’t know any adults who are doing exactly what they wanted to after they graduated, and people misinterpret my flexibility as a lack of ambition.

To those people, I would ask if my resume (http://ca.linkedin.com/pub/shivani-mukerji/2b/a27/467) is that of an unmotivated individual. As I said, I don’t have a clear idea of what I’d like to do. However, holding lots of different positions and participating in extra curriculars does give me more options and helps me narrow down what I like to do.

Ambitiously yours,

Shiv 🙂

Leave a Reply

