Day 26: Moments of weakness

1 month later and it’s finally happened – for the first time, I’m disappointed in my exchange so far. A couple dilemmas I am facing are:

Not meeting many French people. It’s not that they are unfriendly, but they have established their friend groups ages ago, and international students leave in a couple months anyway…and to be honest, I’m still quite shy about my level of French. And there are so many cool events for international students, how do I pull myself away from them?

Still not finding some solid friends. I’ve always had a support system around me, be it my childhood friends or my family, but I haven’t met anyone I would trust as much as I do my friends in my home country. I hope this changes because it’s scary as hell.

Finding out I want to improve a lot about myself. I tire out so easily when I travel, I’m not as outgoing as I’d like and I’m sure I could be spending my time more wisely (actually applying to internships in Europe, for instance. God I need to get going on that). I also wish I had researched the places I’ve visited more thoroughly before arriving, so I know a couple reasons why this building is cool other than knowing that it’s very big and old.

NEW GOALS FOR THE SEMESTER!

  • Start working out regularly
  • Join sports clubs at school
  • Travel alone at least once, if not more often
  • Start applying to internships around Europe TOMORROW

I wonder if other exchange students face the same dilemmas. It’s so easy to get caught up in the social life, it’s easy to prioritize finding the best restaurants or reinventing your wardrobe, but I must remember that that isn’t why I’m on exchange. It’s just a bit hard remembering why I’m here with all these lovely distractions 🙂

Disappointedly yours,

Shiv 🙂

 

One response to “Day 26: Moments of weakness

Leave a Reply

