Day 60: A love note to my favourite class: Social Entrepreneurship

I cannot express how much I enjoy going to my social entrepreneurship class.

We study all the great companies around the world who are improving the lives of people, while being profitable enough to ensure the company’s survival and growth.

Win win business! I want to take part in them, too!

I especially enjoy how India is by far leading in number of examples of social entrepreneurship activities in a country. Say hello to my new favourite company: http://www.ashoka.org/

We do case studies every class too, which are also amazing. Here’s a quote from this week’s case study that I really loved:

“My professors and fellow students were comfortable speaking about power and money. Love and dignity, on the other hand, were words people were often embarrassed to say out loud, or so it felt. There had to be a way to combine power, rigor, and discipline of the marketplace with the compassion I’d seen in so many of the programs aimed at the very poor. Capitalism’s future, it seemed to me then – and much more so now – rests on how much creativity and room for inclusion it can tolerate.”

Jacqueline Novogratz, author of The Blue Sweater: Bridging the Gap between Rich and Poor in an Interconnected World.

Already pumped for next class!

Socially and enterprisingly yours,

Shiv 🙂

Leave a Reply

