Day 54: Nice is nice, but…

So my train journey around the French Riviera continues! I was excited to go to the famous Nice, where the rich and privileged go for their vacations. And it’s gorgeous – the Cote d’Azur has this colour of water that’s unbelievable.

So tempting.

But other than the rocky beach, the flower market….

Wake up early to see the flowers in the flower market at their freshest!

And the old town…

Gorgeous buildings in the old part of town, Vieux Nice

There isn’t a lot to see in Nice. It sort of reminded me of a French version of Fort Lauderdale, Florida: pretty, sunny, popular with old people, very small and not a lot to do. So what do you do when you’re bored of a place?

LEAVE!

Nice is really well connected to smaller towns around it – Antibes, the well known Cannes, Eze, Grasse, and Monaco. I went to Cannes and Antibes in a day and had a great time.

The lazy beaches of Cannes. Much better than Nice.

And I especially liked doing this in late October.

Lying on a beach in the French Riviera, reading 100 years of solitude and loving life.

But again….Cannes was very small,  even smaller than Nice! It wouldn’t take more than a half day to do, so I also went to the lesser known town of Antibes, on the way back to Nice. I was really pleasantly surprised, too. It’s a small town on these rocky cliffs, with cute stores, an outdoor market, and a breathtaking walk along the cliff.

I don’t regret going. I had a lot of fun, and I was travelling with a great group of girls, but I think 3 days was just a little too long.

Forward-lookingly yours,

Shiv 🙂

3 responses to “Day 54: Nice is nice, but…

Leave a Reply

