Hidden gems of Vancouver – Les Faux Bourgeois

One of my favourite aspects of travelling is wandering and discovering new, delightful local places. But why not explore our own backyard once in a while? Having recently moved from one corner of the city to another, my first step in settling down was…unpacking the boxes. And then walking around the neighbourhood to get oriented and connected to my new place! As soon as I passed by this restaurant, it went on my list of places I have to go to.

Les Faux Bourgeois, on the corner of Kingsway and 15th Ave.

Les Faux Bourgeois, on the corner of Kingsway and 15th Ave.

Les Faux Bourgeois. Amazing food. Impeccable service. Romantic and simple, this tiny French restaurant in the middle of nowhere is by far my favourite place to eat in Vancouver.

From the menu, I recommend…

The Boudin Noir to start, and i had no idea what I was in for. Two dark, delicious cutlets were presented beautifully with sauces and puree, and it was to die for. It’s the chefs take on traditional French blood pudding. Delicate, creamy, and savoury, it only made me want more.

Canard confit was the main dish of my choice. Described on the menu as “Confit duck on a warm salad of Sarlandaise potatoes, goat cheese, arugula and port jus,” this was the perfect marriage of flavours on one warm dish. The duck was crispy and tender, just salty enough. I had no idea what Sarlandaise potatoes were, but I found its main ingredients: potatoes, garlic and fat. Yum. The tartness from the arugula and goat cheese lifted the heavy potatoes and duck and balanced the plate nicely.

And finally, creme brulee for dessert. It was simple, elegant and light on the tongue.

I would honestly order the exact same meal every day if I could.

Who to bring?

This is a food descriptive post, but it doesn’t even do the food justice. If you’re looking for a great place to take a date you need to impress, your in-laws from out of town or schmooze a client, this is a sure bet.

Who else thinks Les Faux Bourgeois is great?

Urban Spoon currently ranks Les Faux Bourgeois as Vancouver’s #1 French Restaurant (2014). And I honestly couldn’t agree more.

Happy feasting!

– Shiv

Leave a Reply

